Why do you (want to) freelance?

Live to Write - Write to Live

This post somewhat plays off last week’s post – as there are numerous reasons for people to freelance or go independent.

Whether it’s full time or part time, the freelance/independent life can tug at us. Here are some reasons I’ve heard from writers as to why they are solo.

  • To be my own boss
  • To have flexibility with my schedule
  • To be solely responsible for my own success
  • To make money after being forced out of another job
  • To have more varied work by freelancing/contracting
  • To specialize in a niche
  • To select the businesses and people I want to work with
  • To have autonomy
  • To be more creative
  • To be more appreciated
  • To avoid a long commute
  • To spend more time with my family
  • To work in my pajamas
  • To deposit to my bank account instead of someone else’s
  • To choose how much to be paid

What are your reasons…

View original post 88 more words

Leave a Reply

