Measuring Success

Live to Write - Write to Live

ITW with IPPY           I initially launched my website as a marketing tool, when Into the Wilderness, my first novel, was published in 2010. The site was incredibly useful during the first year the book was out and I was traveling to bookstores and libraries, giving readings. I posted my schedule of upcoming events on my landing page, uploaded reviews, and directed event coordinators to my media kit, where they could download my author photo and templates for posters and a press release. There was even a bio they could use to introduce me. Slick.

I also tried to see beyond the publication of a single novel; I wanted the site to be a marketing tool for a career. So I included information about some of the other work I do: Visiting Scholar for the Vermont Humanities Council, Commentator for Vermont Public Radio, and free-lance teacher and talking head…

View original post 392 more words

Leave a Reply

